2022 Race Report

Fantastic turn out for the 2022 Anglesey Trail events in Newborough Forest

Now in its 3rd year, the Anglesey Trail Half Marathon and 10k has firmly sealed its place as a favourite in the race calendar, offering a superb course around the stunning Newborough Forest. This year's course saw runners take on forest trails, sand dunes, technical single track and a beach section with the half marathon runners heading back round to do it all again; motivated by amazing support from spectators as they passed through the event village.

Conditions were good, with the rain holding off right until the last competitor crossed the line and the forest offering shelter from the wind.

The first race to start was the cani-cross at 08.40. 23 dog and handler teams lined up, with the normal levels of excitement and noise that comes with a cani-cross start. At the 7.5km mark, heading in to the technical section it was a very close race with 5 runners all within 15 seconds of each other. At the finish line it was Austin Bowers who crossed first taking first place ion the men’s race in a time of 52.26. Susie Gibson with her lovely red collie crossed the line just 9 seconds after in a time of 52.35 taking the top spot in the ladies race.

400 runners made their way to the line at 9.00 for the start of the Half Marathon and 10k. In the ladies 10k Kathryn Mackinnon held the lead throughout and finished in a time of 51.20. Sarah Lamberton finished strongly, moving from 4th at the 7.5km mark to take second place in a very closely fought battle with Angharad Evans who finished just a second behind in 53.02 to make up the podium.

In The Men’s Josh Keogh, representing NWRCC set the pace and took the win in a time of 39.18. Steve Forsyth also of NWRCC was the man on his heels throughout the course and took second in 39.35, it was great to see the comradery and sportsmanship between these two gentlemen on the finish line as they congratulated each other after a great race. Steffan Sayer from Menai Track and Field was third in 41.19.

Over in the Half Marathon, the top three women held their positions throughout with Sophie Hunt from UTS Running Club taking the win in 1.36.09 in front of Jay Wymer in 1.39.03 and Melissa Denman in 1.43.07

In the Men’s Elliot Kerins let last years winner Jonathon Kettle set the pace for the first lap before taking the lead and the tape in 01.23.55. Will Smith was strong throughout and took second just under a minute later in 01.24.52. Cybi Striders Robert Mansell also maintained a great pace to keep his place in the front pack and finish 3rd in a time of 1.26.08.

Nigel Kendrick, Director of Always Aim High Events said ‘This event has become a firm favourite for so many and it’s really clear to see why. We were delighted to welcome over 400 runners only 6 months since we ran the Covid post-phoned event in 2021.

Newborough is an incredibly special place and it is a privilege for runners to race here. We had to make some route changes due to nesting birds but these were well received and it was great to cheer on the half marathon runners as they passed to go on their 2nd loop.

Entries are now open for next year’s race which will now move into November when there are fewer restrictions around nesting birds. This may give us the opportunity to once again run on the stunning Ynys Llanddwyn as we did in November 2021. The half marathon course will also return to its single loop course.'

View full race results for the 2022 Anglesey Trail Half, 10K and Canicross.

Race photography was provided by Mel Parry Event Images Images.

Entries are now open for the 2023 events which will be on Sunday 5th November with early bird pricing available for the first 4 weeks.

Selected 2022 Anglesey Trail Half Marathon, 10k & Canicross Results

Half Marathon


1. Elliot Kerins 01:23:57

2. Williams Smith 01:24:56

3. Robert Mansell 01:26:11


1. Sophie Hunt 01:36:09

2. Jay Wymer 01:39:06

3. Melissa Denman 01:43:07



1. Josh Keough 00:39:19

2. Steve Forsyth 00:39:37

3. Steffan Sayer 00:41:21


1. Kathryn MacKinnon 00:51:49

2. Sarah Lamberton 00:53:13

3. Angharad Evans 00:53:14

Canicross 10k


1. Susie Gibson 00:52:35

2. Harriett Hayto 00:52:47

3. Amy Smith 00:53:12


1 .Austin Bowers 00:52:26

2. Llew Rhys 00:53:42

3. Tim Plested 00:54:13